Welcome to Fundamentally Feminist!

Hello and welcome to Fundamentally Feminist! This blog was created out of a desire to explore current feminist issues. I hope to analyze recent events affecting women from a feminist perspective using research, interviews and various strains of feminist theory.

I am a second-year journalism major with a concentration in women’s studies and an educational studies minor at the University of Florida. I love reading and discussing various types of feminist theory, including liberal, radical, Marxist and postcolonial feminism. Reading feminist authors and scholars such as Andrea Dworkin, Gloria Steinem, bell hooks, Audre Lorde, Gail Dines, Adrienne Rich and Patricia Hill Collins is an important aspect of the way I approach feminism, and I hope to incorporate the theory laid out by feminist scholars of various approaches.  I find that taking a multifaceted approach to feminism yields the best results when analyzing an issue.

With this blog I hope to show that feminist thought is more intricate, thoughtful and layered than the general population may expect. I hope to make readers really question the issues discussed here, to learn not to simply accept ideas or social structures at face-value and to begin analyzing all aspects of life with a feminist lens. I hope my words here give readers a new outlook.

 

Leave a Reply

